Scientific Program

Download the program by clicking here


4:15-4:45 pm: Welcome remarks (Nathalie Arbour, Canada | V. Wee Yong, Canada, | Amit Bar-Or, USA (ISNI President))

Afternoon Session – Neural cells: leading and supporting actors of neuroimmunology

Chairs: Nathalie Arbour (Canada) and Jorge Correale (Argentina)

4:45-5:30 pm: Astrocytes (Hedwich Kuipers – University of Calgary, Canada)
5:30-6:15 pm: Oligodendrocytes (Catherine Larochelle – University of Montreal, Canada)
6:15-7:00 pm: Microglia (Jason Plemel – University of Alberta, Canada)

7:00 pm: Social – wine/cheese/finger food/social


7:00-8:00 am: Breakfast

Morning Session 1 – Outsiders shaping neuroinflammation

Chairs: Tika Benveniste (USA) and Deepak Kaushik (Canada)

8:00-8:45 am: Leukocytes (Laurie Harrington – University of Alabama, USA)
8:45-9:30 am: Microbiome (Jennifer Gommerman – University of Toronto, Canada)
9:30-10:15 am: Sympathetic nervous system (Alexandre Salgado Basso – Universidade Federal de São Paulo, Brazil)

10:15-10:45 am: Coffee Break

10:45-11:30 am: Environmental factors (Francisco Quintana – Harvard University / Brigham and Women’s Hospital, USA)

Morning/Afternoon session 2 – Immune cells and CNS vasculature

Chairs: Tika Benveniste (USA) and Deepak Kaushik (Canada)

11:30 am-12:15 pm: Brain perivascular macrophages in stroke and dementia (Giuseppe Faraco – Weill Cornell Medicine, USA)
12:15-1:00 pm: Adhesion molecules in leukocyte transmigration (Alexandre Prat – University of Montreal, Canada)

1:00 pm: Lunch Break

Afternoon session: Infections of the nervous system

Chairs: Jo Anne Stratton (Canada) and Francisco Quintana (USA)

4:00-4:45 pm: Neuroimmunology of Bacterial Infections (Tammy Kielian – University of Nebraska, USA)
4:45-5:30 pm: Innate immune activation of glial cells: lessons to be learnt from an intracellular bacterium (Guillermo Giambartolomei – Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina)
5:30-6:15 pm: Viral infections and neuroimaging (Dorian McGavern – National Institute of Health, USA)

6:15-7:00 pm: Dinner

7:00-9:30 pm: Poster session I

Electronic Poster Presentations



7:00-8:00 am: Breakfast

Morning Session 1 – Multiple Sclerosis – Session sponsored by ACTRIMS

Chairs: Jack Antel (Canada) and Carolina Ionete (USA)

8:00-8:45 am: Neuroimmunology of MS (Manu Rangachari – University of Laval, Canada)
8:45-9:30 am: Sex differences in MS (Seema Tiwari-Woodruff – UC Riverside, USA)
9:30-10:15 am: Biomarkers in MS (Craig Moore – Memorial University, Canada)

10:15-10:45 am: Coffee Break

Morning Session 2 – Neuroinflammation in traumatic injuries and stroke

Chairs: Jack Antel (Canada) and Carolina Ionete (USA)

10:45-11:30 am: Traumatic CNS injuries (Soheila Karimi – University of Manitoba, Canada)
11:30 am-12:15 pm: Stroke (Jasna Kriz – Laval University, Canada)

12:15 pm: Lunch Break

12:45-3:00 pm: Poster session II

Electronic Poster Presentations

Afternoon Session 1: Neuroinflammation in neurodegenerative diseases

Chairs: Quimin Tan (Canada) and Luke Healy (Canada)

4:30 – 5:15 pm: Role of glial cells in mediating neuroinflammation and neurotoxicity in ALS and Parkinson’s disease (Luis Barbeito – Institut Pasteur de Montevideo, Uruguay)
5:15 – 6:00 pm: Alzheimer’s disease (Li Gan – Weill Cornell Medicine, USA)

Afternoon Session 2 – Neuroinflammation in brain tumors

Chairs: Quimin Tan (Canada) and Luke Healy (Canada)

6:00-6:45 pm: Brain tumors (Dolores Hambardzumyan – Emory University, USA)

7:00 pm: Dinner


7:00-8:00 am: Breakfast

Morning Session: Neuroinflammation in neurological and neurobehavioral conditions

Chairs: Seema Tiwari-Woodruff (USA) and Wee Yong (Canada)

8:00-8:45 am: Psychiatric Disorders (Jonathan Godbout – The Ohio State University, USA)
8:45-9:30 am: Pathogenic anti-CNS antibodies (Jorge Correale – Raúl Carrea Institute for Neurological Research, Argentina)
9:30-10:15 am: Early-life immune activation disrupts the ontogeny of learning in juveniles (Jaclyn Schwarz – University of Delaware, USA)
10:15-11:00 am: Wrap up (Tika Benveniste – University of Alabama, USA | Nathalie Arbour – University of Montreal, Canada | Juana María Pasquini – University of Buenos Aires, Argentina)